You Asked And You Shall Receive: Local Yocal White Peach And Honey Ice Cream

Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who voted in my most recent poll.  I have a hope that I will be able to keep anyone awesome enough to read about my food adventures, interested and entertained for a very long time.  In order to do that, I like to get your input every once in awhile.  But honestly, I was pretty surprised by the results.  I thought breakfast would be the winner, being that I don’t have a single post dedicated to the most important meal of the day.  Much to my surprise, it came in dead last, by a lot.  Nevertheless, I was pretty delighted that I had to come up with a sweet treat.  It didn’t take long for me to decide to make ice cream.  I love ice cream, and would eat it every single day of summer if I could, and ever since getting an ice cream maker as a wedding gift, almost three years ago, I have truly enjoyed experimenting with homemade creations.  I’ve made vanilla, almond chocolate, strawberry, cookies and cream, sweet cream, lemon ginger, and even cranberry sorbet.  I love it…it’s just fun!  So, inspired by my poll and the memory of some unbelievably sweet and juicy local peaches I set out to reinvent a classic summertime favorite…peach ice cream.

Ingredients

White Peaches (yellow are fine, too but the flavor is slightly different)

Honey ( mine came from Long Branch, NJ)

Heavy Cream

Milk

Eggs (Vineland, NJ…yay for Jersey Fresh!)

Sugar

Process

First, I want to remind you that if you are using an electric ice cream maker, you need to freeze the bowl at least 24 hours in advance.  Now, of course you’ll want to peel your peaches (4-5 small to medium peaches).

002

This can be a trying and wasteful task, but if you drop the peaches in boiling water for a couple of minutes the skin will come right off.  So, grab a pot fill it with hot water and bring it to a rolling boil.

005Gently drop each peach into the water and return to a boil.

007

While the peaches boil, gather the rest of your ingredients.

004

After about a minute or two (the skin will lose some of its vibrancy), drain the peaches into a colander.

010Run some cold water over the peaches to cool them off before you handle them.

012Then, with a pairing knife or just your hands (in the end, I ended up using my hands, it’s considerably easier), rub off the skin.

013Repeat the process until all of the peaches are skin-free.

014Next, cut the flesh off of each peach.  I did this by scoring a grid pattern into them with my knife.

015Then, scrape the segments back into the colander ( I recommend you place a couple paper towels under the bowl so the juices don’t run all over your counter).

017Pour the cut peaches into your blender.

019Pulse on high until the peaches are about the texture of a smoothie.

020Pour into a bowl and place in the refrigerator.  Now you are over the hump.  This may seem like a long process, but it really only takes minutes.  Next, you are going to make the ice cream base.  For this recipe, I used a sweet cream custard base, you could use vanilla, but I didn’t want it to overpower the main flavors of peach and honey.  Start by cracking two eggs into a bowl.

022With a whisk and some elbow grease, beat the eggs until they are frothy and lighter in color.

024Now whisk in a little less than half a cup of sugar.

026Next add a little less than half a cup of honey (you want about 3/4 cup of sweeteners total, but taste it and see how you like it).

028Whisk well to incorporate the honey.

029Add one and a half cups of heavy cream.

031Now, add one and a half cups of milk.

033Stir until everything is well blended and homogenous.  Assemble your ice cream maker, plug it in and add the base to the bowl.

035Freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions, when the base is semi-frozen, add the pureed peaches to the bowl and continue to freeze for about five more minutes.

038

Yours may be a little firmer than this, before putting it in the freezer depending on your ice cream maker.  Mine usually takes about 25-30 minutes to reach this texture at which point I cover it and pop it in the freezer for about an hour or two before serving.

040Please take a moment to relish in the sweet deliciousness of fresh summer peaches, local honey, and cream…ENJOY, with a cherry on top!

042

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Make Your Own Takeout, Polls, Uncategorized

One response to “You Asked And You Shall Receive: Local Yocal White Peach And Honey Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

