Quick Apple Crumble For Two

So, DH (dear husband) and I are addicted to the show Pushing Daisies, and in honor of the pie maker, I’ve been making tasty pie-like desserts for us to have while we watch the show.  After a trip to the orchard over the weekend, I knew I would be making apple crumble this week, and to simplify it, I decided to make them in individual ramekins.  This worked out especially well, since we didn’t get home until after 8p.m. tonight.  I threw these together in 15 minutes.  They came out really well, the filling was fragrant, and the apples were cooked to perfection.  The crumble itself added a wonderful crunchiness without too much sweetness.  I thought I would post this recipe to show people that you don’t always have to follow an exact recipe to bake a wonderful dessert.

Ingredients

Filling:

JonaMac Apples

Fresh Lemon Juice

Butter

Granulated Sugar

Cinnamon

Crumble:

Chilled Butter

Quick Oats

Flour

Granulated Sugar

Cinnamon

Process

Start by pre-heating your oven to 400 degrees and lightly buttering your ramekins.  Quickly peel and quarter your apples (3 small/medium apples filled two ramekins).

Then thinly slice each quarter and toss into a large pot.  To the pot add about a tablespoon of lemon juice (to slow the oxidation of the apples), sugar and cinnamon to taste, and about a tablespoon of butter.  DH and I don’t like things too sweet so, I only use a few tablespoons of sugar and lots of cinnamon.

Allow apple mixture to slowly simmer until all sugar is dissolved, ingredients are well incorporated, apples are slightly softened, and a light caramel has formed.

While your filling is coming together, use your fingers to combine the crumble mixture.  Again, I didn’t actually use measurements, but, in general, you should have more oats than any other ingredient.  I used about a tablespoon of butter that I cut into small cubes, a couple tablespoons of flour and sugar both, and cinnamon to taste.  Work with your fingers until a coarse crumble is formed.  If your mixture is too wet, add a little more flour.  Taste a bit of the mixture to test your sugar and cinnamon.

By now, your filling should be ready.  Spoon the filling into the buttered ramekins.

Now, generously top with the crumble (if your filling is not ready, refrigerate the crumble until ready to use).

Place centered, on middle rack of your oven and bake for about 25 minutes or until filling is bubbly and topping is lightly browned and crisp.  When ready, remove from oven and allow to cool for at least 15-20 minutes.  And finally, Enjoy!

Cobblers, Crumbles, and Crisps Adventure

http://joelens.blogspot.com/

4 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Quick Apple Crumble For Two

  1. Looks SOOO good! I love apple and oats! YUM!

  2. Winn

    Shayne,
    I love this. I am baking cupcakes and was thinking about starting a cupcake blog! Will you make cupcakes next time?

  3. You should submit this to Joelen’s crisps and crumbles event!

  4. Biz

    Thanks! I just bought individual ramekins, and was trying to find a paired down version for just hubby and me (and maybe my daughter!)

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

