The Boss’ Fall Fete

A few weeks ago, Mark, one of my bosses, asked me to make him dinner for his birthday.  Of course, I agreed and shortly after began planning and testing out ideas.  Originally I was thinking steak or fish with risotto and some sort of green veggie.  I decided on butternut squash risotto and when my ideas for fish and steak didn’t work out, dh suggested that I make a roasted, glazed sausage dish that I’ve been making for years.  After pondering the idea for a few moments, the meal came together.  I would make the sausage and then to tie all the fall flavors together, I would garnish with some sauteed apples.

Dan, made his specialty, key lime pie.  Which was absolutely mouth-watering, as usual.

So for nearly a week, Dan, Doug (my other boss), and I kept the menu a secret from Mark, that is until the yummy smells were wafting from his kitchen.

working my magic in mark and doug's beautiful French inspired kitchen.

working my magic in mark and doug's beautiful French inspired kitchen.

Doug’s Tablescape

sparkling stemware

sparkling stemware

a dramatic centerpiece of black baccara roses, black berries, and glowing votives

a dramatic centerpiece of black baccara roses, black berries, and glowing votives

a table setting fit for a king

a table setting fit for a king

The Menu

First Course:

Baby Spinach Salad

baby spinach salad with apples, spiced pecans, goat cheese, and apple cider vinaigrette

baby spinach salad with apples, spiced pecans, goat cheese, and apple cider vinaigrette

Entree:

Roasted Butternut Squash Risotto with Glazed Italian Sausage and Sauteed Apples

risotto made with covey run sauvignon blanc, parmesan cheese, and rosemary

risotto made with covey run sauvignon blanc, parmesan cheese, and rosemary

sausage glazed with apple butter and italian apricot preserves

sausage glazed with apple butter and italian apricot preserves

Dessert:

Key Lime Pie with Homemade Whipped Cream, Lemon Curd, and Chocolate Sauce

a light finish to a rich meal

a light finish to a rich meal

Between the food, the liquor, and they good company, we definitely enjoyed!

I couldn't tell you why I'm facing the camera but not actually looking at it.

I couldn't tell you why I'm facing the camera but not actually looking at it.

1 Comment

Filed under Party Time

One response to “The Boss’ Fall Fete

  1. WOW! What a beautiful meal!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

