Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

On a recent Saturday morning, I was watching the Produce Pete segment on the Today Show and he was talking about cauliflower, when I realized that I had never cooked cauliflower.  To be honest, I don’t remember ever eating it any way but raw.  I love it raw but, I certainly couldn’t serve it for dinner that way.  So armed with all my tips from the ever-so-helpful Pete, I picked up a pretty little head of cauliflower and set off to find a good recipe.  I was sorely disappointed with my Internet search.  Most of the recipes I found were bland diet recipes.  So I figured if they’re a substitute for mashed potatoes they need cheese and since they are a nice fresh veggie they could benefit from some herbs.  Here’s what I came up with:

Ingredients

Cauliflower

Lemon (zest and juice)

Fresh Parsley

Butter

Parmesan Cheese

Milk

Process

Rinse the cauliflower and scrape off any oxidized brown spots with the back of a knife.

0012Then cut the head in half and remove the core and all the greens around the bottom.

0032You can then cut or break the cauliflower into similarly sized florets.

0043Next, place your veggies in a large pot of cool, salted water and bring to a boil.  Allow to boil until just fork tender (soft enough to mash) but, not mushy.

0053While the cauliflower cooks, chop the parsley and finely grate the lemon zest.  You can also gently heat the milk in the microwave (you probably don’t need more than 1/4 cup for one head of cauliflower).

0062When the caulflower is tender, drain very well in a colander and return to the pot, on low heat.  Add the herbs, lemon juice, and lemon zest.  Season with salt and pepper and mash with a potato masher.

0072To smooth out even more, remove from heat and place into a bowl, add a couple splashes of milk and lots of cheese, and go at it with your hand mixer.  If you like it chunkier just stir in the milk and cheese.

0091Note:  Cauliflower has a lot of water in it, more than I anticipated, as a result, my finished product was looking a little runny.  If yours comes out like this, return it to the pot and let some of the liquid cook out over medium to medium high heat (keep a close eye on it!).

0102As per the results of my poll (that some of you so graciously voted in) I served the cauliflower with Italian style meatloaf muffins, and of course, another generous sprinkling of parm.

Please excuse the unsightly white speck on the table, apparently the cameraman was off his game...lol.

Please excuse the unsightly white speck on the table, apparently the cameraman was off his game...lol.

Enjoy this tasty and light alternative to mashed potatoes!

2 Comments

Filed under Sides, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

  1. I love making cauliflower this way!

  2. I heard cheesey and I came a runnin’

Leave a Reply

