Thanksgiving Part Two

For the first time in several years, I did not host Thanksgiving dinner. For DH and I, we’ve split the years that we’ve lived together between spending Thanksgiving with my brother and his partner and staying home and just cooking for the two of us.  But this year, my aunt, my mom’s older sister, invited us over and although I absolutely love cooking a big Thanksgiving meal, I simply could not refuse.  What can I say?  I love my family and could never pass up the opportunity to spend a holiday with them.

That being said, I just couldn’t help myself.  Thanksgiving is just not the same without sausage and apple stuffing and fresh cranberry sauce.  So in addition to the cake I made to bring to my aunt’s house (Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake:  see my polls tab), which was a big hit, I made a citrus and herb turkey breast, gravy from the drippings, and the aforementioned stuffing and sauce.  The intention was to eat the meal I cooked on Friday, but before we joined up with the family, I helped myself to a serving of stuffing and cranberry sauce, and after returning home, DH spooned up a serving for himself, announcing, “Thanksgiving’s not the same without your stuffing.”  So although we both had impromptu tasting sessions of Thanksgiving Part Two, we really enjoyed it on Friday.  Everything heated up beautifully, you would never had known it was cooked the day before.

The Menu

Citrus and Herb Turkey Breast

Sausage and Apple Stuffing

Fresh Cranbury Sauce with Orange Zest

Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake

Note:  All of the above were prepared on Thursday.

002I think this was the best stuffing I’ve ever made.  I used in artisan sourdough boule and I think it made all the difference.

001Could food be any prettier?

003To complete the meal, on Friday I used reserved turkey drippings to make gravy scented with fresh sage and rosemary and served everything alongside some buttery black pepper corn.  We were in heaven!

005004We didn’t think to get a pic of dessert but, it was delicious, here is the Food Network photo.

Anyway, who says you can’t have two Thanksgivings!?!  It’s impossible not to ENJOY!

1 Comment

Filed under Party Time, Sides

One response to “Thanksgiving Part Two

  1. Pingback: Taking The Turkey Up A Notch « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

