The Consequences Of Taking A Day Off

One night last week, I worked late and DH surprised me by making stew for dinner.  When I arrived home to the comforting aroma of meat and roots simmering on the stove, I was oh so pleased and relieved that I wouldn’t have to stand over the stove after a long day.  The stew was delicious and I had a nice relaxing evening.  But, over the next few days, I discovered that DH had used all of many ingredients that I had been saving for other endeavors.  Two days later, I made chicken paprikash for the first time and halfway through, I realized that I didn’t have any chicken broth (though, I didn’t put two and two together for awhile) and I had to send him rushing out to the store for another can.

Since Thanksgiving, I had been planning to use my leftover turkey bones to make and freeze stock.  After eating all the yummy meat, I froze the bones and returned to them this past Sunday, only to discover that DH had also used all of my celery and rosemary.  I wasn’t ready to give up my plan so I did my  best to substitute the missing ingredients.  Here goes:

Ingredients

Leftover Poultry Bones (In this case, turkey)

Bell Pepper (subbed for celery)

Carrots

Herbs (I used tarragon, sage, and parsley, any mix is fine)

Fresh Garlic

Onion

Kosher Salt

Process

Roughly chop all the veggies and place in a large pot.  You can leave the herbs whole as you will be straining the finished stock before freezing it.

0011

Toss them in the pot with the veggies, drop in your bones and pour in a couple tablespoons of salt.

0031Fill the pot with water and allow it to come to a boil over high heat.  I used hot water but, I assume cold would be fine, it would just take a little longer to  boil.

0041Once it comes to a boil, reduce the heat to medium, cover and allow to simmer for 2-3 hours (the bones should be falling away from each other).  Go drink some wine and lounge on the sofa while you wait.

0051Place a colander over a large bowl and strain out the veggies, bones, and herbs.

006Carefully pour into ice cube trays (you can also put in an airtight container or ziploc bag if you don’t have any spare trays).

0071Pop the filled tray in the freezer and use at your convenience.

0081Note:  I used the first of my cubes last night, and the dish turned out fantastic!  ENJOY!

Leave a comment

Filed under Leftovers

Leave a Reply

