A Long, Leisurely Christmas Eve

This year, DH and I spent Christmas Eve at home, just the two of us.  After working many, many hours all throughout December, I couldn’t have asked for anything more.  I cooked slow, we ate slow, we drank slow, and we truly enjoyed.  Because of our love for all things Spanish, I made a leisurely tapas style meal, consisting of two rounds of food.

The Menu

Round One

Kalamata Olives

Manzanilla Olives

Pa Amb Tomaquet

Tempranillo Wine

Pa Amb Tomaquet is a Catalan specialty consisting of lightly toasted bread rubbed with garlic and vine ripened tomatoes and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, then sprinkled with kosher salt...muy delicioso!

Pa Amb Tomaquet is a Catalan specialty consisting of lightly toasted bread rubbed with garlic and vine ripened tomatoes and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, then sprinkled with kosher salt...muy delicioso!

Round Two

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Bacon and Onions

Chorizo

Patatas Bravas

…and, more Tempranillo

My first attempt at brussel sprouts...yeah, they're good.

My first attempt at brussel sprouts...yeah, they're good.

The Star

Patatas Bravas…I searched high and low for a recipe that sounded like what  I ate in Barcelona.  I finally found a recipe that seemed right and they came out terrific.  Probably the best I’m gonna get on this side of the Atlantic.

Behold, a true beauty!

Behold, a true beauty!

Hope everyone ENJOYED their holiday celebrations, and wishing peace, love, prosperity, and of course more good eats in 2009!

3 Comments

Filed under Ethnic, Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Long, Leisurely Christmas Eve

  1. joelen

    Mmm – I love tapas and this looks like a great spread!

  2. What a romantic Christmas Eve spread! I hope that my husband and I get to do something like this one year.

  3. Pingback: Because We Are Addicted…Roasted Brussel Sprouts « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

