Spice It Up With Shrimp Fra Diavolo

I realized, not long ago, that I have not posted any seafood here on One Bite At A Time.  Like many foodies, I really, really love seafood, and since moving in with DH, I have definitely turned him into a lover of all most victuals of the sea.  Although I don’t have the budget to buy fresh seafood often, I try my best to get it whenever I can, and almost always buy a big bag of frozen shrimp when it’s on sale.  Now, I know that many of my favorite gourmet chefs would denounce anyone who cooks frozen shrimp, but lets face it, most of us regular people can’t afford to buy fresh shrimp at $9.99/lb.  When I do luck out and find the aforementioned shrimp on sale, I have lots and lots of fun experimenting and trying out new flavor combinations.  Here’s a recipe for shrimp fra diavolo that I’ve been making for quite a while now, I usually serve it over plain white rice or pasta, but this time around I thought I’d do a basic parmesan risotto.  The creamy risotto was a great complement to the spicy shrimp.  Of course, feel free to change up the type of tomatoes you use or swap out my choices for your favorite herbs.  As usual, my aim is to provide you with a guide, ideas, and inspiration.  Here it is:

Ingredients

Shrimp

Fresh Basil

Fresh Parsley

Fresh Garlic

Onion

Kosher Salt

Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Cayenne Pepper

Crushed Red Pepper

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Canned Tomatoes (I used puree, it was on sale)

Process

Begin by heating a small amount of olive oil in a large skillet, over medium-high heat.  While the pan heats, combine the shrimp with salt, black pepper, and crushed red pepper.

0021When the pan is hot, add the shrimp.

0031While the shrimp cooks, chop the onion and herbs and mince the garlic.

0014When the shrimp is just pink, remove from the pan and set aside.

005In the same pan, cook the onions and garlic until tender and translucent, but not browned (the heat should be turned down to medium-low).

0072Then add the tomatoes, a little bit of water, and cayenne pepper to taste.   Stir to incorporate.

0081Allow to reduce and thicken, by simmering over low heat (in the meantime, you can prepare the other components of your meal).  Then stir in your herbs, and allow to simmer a little longer.  You want the sauce to pick up the flavor of the fresh herbs.

0091When the rest of your meal is just about complete, toss the shrimp back in the pan, just to coat and reheat.

0101Serve over a piping bowl of your desired starch, and ENJOY this simple, spicy, and succulent delight!

013

5 Comments

Filed under Ethnic, Seafood

5 responses to “Spice It Up With Shrimp Fra Diavolo

  1. This looks so good – I love shrimp but agree that it’s just too expensive sometimes…I’m adding this to my list of things to do with it though!

  2. joelen

    Yum! What a great and flavorful meal!

  3. rlberry

    This looks really good. I was just thinking that I haven’t made risotto in awhile, and I have some shrimp, so I will have to try this.

    – Renee (rels09 on WC)

  4. I haven’t had shrimp like this for a long time. Looks great!

  5. Looks delicious and flavorful. I love shrimp (esp. when it goes on sale)!

Leave a Reply

