Crispy Honey-Lime Salmon

So, I’m gonna sort of piggy back posts here.  To go along with the panzanella salad I shared in my last post, I created a new salmon dish.  I know that a lot of people are bored with salmon and that it is actually becoming quite a controversial fish, but my husband and I love it.  In fact, I’ve even converted a few seafoodphobes with my blackened version(maybe I’ll post that one someday,too :)), and I find that I can always think of something new to do with it.  Although not naturally bland, I consider salmon my chicken of the sea…poached, broiled, baked, pan-fried, packed with flavor or simply seasoned, I can always find a tasty and satisfying method of preparation.  Now, usually, we want the sides to complement the protein, but the panzanella was really the focus of this meal and I wanted something with light flavor to accompany the tart, salty, cheesy salad.  Both the husband and I agreed that this had the perfect balance of zesty punch and mellow flavors to be yummy in its own right, without outshining the salad.  Hope you give it a try…

Ingredients

Salmon Fillets

Lime Zest

Fresh Garlic

Honey

Dijon Mustard

Kosher Salt

Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Panko Bread Crumbs

Canola Oil

Process

Start by heating a large skillet, over medium-high heat, with just a drizzle of oil.  Then, lay your salmon onto a few paper towels to soak up any excess moisture and season each fillet with some salt and pepper.  Next, grab a dish and zest one lime into it, add honey, mustard, and finely minced garlic.

037Stir it all up, then grab another dish and load it up with an excess of panko.  Now you can set up your breading station.  I usually do this in order of what goes on the protein first and end up at the pan.  In this case, that’s fish, honey mustard mixture, panko, and hot pan.

038Dip each salmon fillet into the honey mustard to thoroughly coat both sides.

040Then dip each fillet into the panko and lightly coat all sides.

041Tip:  Add your fillets one at a time to the hot pan as you bread them.  The breading only takes a few seconds and you don’t need to dirty up another dish.

042Get all your fish into the pan and allow the first side to reach a deep golden brown before flipping.  The second side will cook faster, so keep an eye on it.  The fish is done when it feels firm to the touch and the meat just flakes.  On fillets this size, by the time both sides are equally golden the fish will be cooked through.

0431

Serve up with a wedge of lime and ENJOY!

058

4 Comments

Filed under Seafood, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Crispy Honey-Lime Salmon

  1. I’m only an occasional salmon fan… but this recipe sounds terrific! Perhaps I’ll try it with another fish first. The jury is still out on if I like salmon 😉

    Love the flavor combo though!

  2. Oh my goodness! I’m drooling here. Why didn’t anyone else think of this?

  3. Yum! I love the crust on that salmon. The salmon it self looks perfectly cooked.

  4. I need to try this recipe – the flavors paired with salmon sounds and looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

